Because so many residents enjoy golf carts in their communities and neighborhoods, there are state laws set in place for these golf carts.
Florida is no exception.
Make sure that you are in compliance once you purchase your golf cart.
Regular Golf Carts Laws In Florida
Most golf carts that have not gone through modifications or been made “street legal” do not require any registration.
They are allowed on any highway that has a listed speed of 30 mph or lower.
In Florida counties, these golf carts can use intersections if one of the roads is approved for golf cart use.
In order for this to be legal, there must be a golf cart posting on the highway indicating to the drivers that they can be there and cross the road.
If they are not registered, they are not required to carry any type of insurance.
📋 Keep in mind: This leaves the owner responsible for damages should there be a collision and no insurance on the golf cart.
Driver’s License For a Regular Golf Cart
These golf carts also do not require a driver’s license when operating.
However, if you take the golf cart out on designated roads where they are allowed, the golf cart driver must be a minimum of 14 years old to drive on these roadways.
Converted golf carts, however, have laws that are specific to them in Florida. These laws and specifications are listed below.
Converted Golf Carts Florida Laws
Golf carts that have been customized and taken a significant upgrade are considered converted golf carts.
In many cases, these golf carts move faster than your average electric golf cart.
These golf carts have also been upgraded with proper headlights, mirrors, and signals so that they can operate properly with other vehicles on the roadway.
You will find these golf carts to have seat belts for all passengers and reflectors to make other drivers aware they are on the roadways.
Florida Registration Laws
In the state of Florida, golf carts are considered to be low-speed vehicles when in operation. This is due to the speed of the golf carts staying between 20 and 25 mph for most models.
If you have a golf cart or a low-speed vehicle, you do need to register it with the state of Florida.
You can get a registration for the title through the Florida Dept. of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
💡 Golfible Tip: If you are planning to drive your golf cart on the highway, you must be sure to have the registration available in case you are pulled over by law enforcement.
Insurance Laws for Golf Carts in Florida
If you have a regular golf cart that is not street-legal or converted, then you are not required to carry insurance.
These golf carts are not expected to be in any significant traffic with other vehicles that will travel at substantial speeds.
If you have a converted golf cart that is able to travel on roads faster than 35 mph, then you will need to have a minimum insurance policy that covers personal insurance and personal property.
📋 Keep in mind: You will need a minimum coverage of at least $10,000 in each category on your policy.
Local Government Laws
Keep in mind that these laws above are placed at the state level.
This means that local governments can enforce stricter golf cart policies in their city.
If the city or county laws in place are stricter than what has been set by the state, it is critical that you follow the local government ordinance.
State laws are meant to have regulations for golf carts in unincorporated areas or places that have not currently established laws for golf carts.
If you are not sure if there are local laws referencing golf carts, contact your city or county office for more information.
Many neighborhoods and subdivision HOAs post regulations concerning golf carts on their own streets.
They may have rules regarding who can drive the golf carts around the neighborhood and what top speeds can be used to prevent a disturbance.
For coastal towns that allow residents and guests to bring their golf carts to the beach, these must be street-legal and driven by a legal driver to cross traffic and park.
So Can I Ride On Sidewalks in Florida?
One of the most common questions regarding Florida golf cart laws is sidewalks and if golf carts can be on them.
The answer is no, golf carts are not allowed on sidewalks in Florida, as they are meant for pedestrians only.
Some golf carts are thin by design, while larger sidewalks may exist in some larger towns.
If you are driving on these sidewalks, you can be issued a citation from law enforcement and be forced to pay a fine.
What’s The Minimum Age a Golf Driver Can Be in Florida?
Whether you are operating a regular golf cart or one that is street-legal, the driver cannot be any younger than 14.
Those that are driving on busier roads where permitted in Florida will need a driver’s license, which is available at 15 years old.
If you have children who like to drive the golf cart around your area, make sure you, as the adult, take over the wheel before getting on a highway and attempting to cross.
Can I Drive My Golf Cart At Night In Florida?
In Florida, you are able to drive your golf cart at night, but it must be equipped with lights, reflectors, and a windshield, depending on the local laws where you live. Some cities or communities may have a curfew of when the golf carts need to be off the road.
Can I Take My Golf Cart Camping In Florida?
Depending on where you plan to camp when visiting Florida, you need to make sure that golf carts are allowed on the property. While some private campgrounds allow golf carts to be used, more public campgrounds are not as golf cart friendly.
State parks in Florida do not allow golf carts in the campground. This is due to the excessive traffic they see each year from visitors to the campground and making sure there is enough space for everyone to enjoy the state parks.